Some Exciting News

As the headline suggests, I have some exciting news to report, and that’s not even including the fact that this is my newest post in a while.  First,  I will be heading out to the “Connecting 2 Collections” conference at the annual meeting of the American Association for State and Local History in Richmond next week.  I will be out in Richmond to deliver a talk on a collections management project I participated in this past January at the Laurel (DE) Historical Society.  The two-week project involved cataloging and labeling the small historical society’s collections of three-dimensional artifacts, clothing, and archival material (you can view some pictures of our work at Laurel here). A good part of my time there was spent working on the People’s National Bank of Laurel bank books collection, which was a collection of fifty bank books acquired by LHS from the local branch of the Bank of Delmarva.  As a result of spending decades in a cold, damp basement the books had suffered mold accumulation.  Some of them were in really nasty shape with deteriorating pages, rotting leather covers that left a residue called red rot , and mold accumulation reminiscent of the Mushroom Kingdom from the Super Mario Bros. Movie.   My job involved sorting the books by type and identifying which ones LHS was going to keep, cleaning the keepers with a variable speed HEPA vacuum cleaner (we protected the books by putting some cheesecloth over the vacuum’s nozzle),  and cataloging them in an inventory.  Overall it was a great experience in spite of the fears of mold poisoning (after the first day vacuuming mold off the bank books I seriously thought the exposure was going to kill me) and one nasty cold that spread across the interns like a deadly plague of congestion and nighttime stuffiness.  Anyway, if you’re around Richmond be sure to stop by, but if not that’s ok too, since a video of the presentation is supposed to be published online sometime after the conference (for which you can be sure I’ll provide I link).

My other big announcement fortunately has nothing to do with deadly mold poisoning.  Last week, I was asked by the guys over at MechTaco if I would come on as an editorial writer and I’m here to announce that I’ve accepted.  As a result, future posts on video games that I put up on PrimarySourceCode (as well as my existing archive) will also appear over at MechTaco.  For those of you who follow the site I recommend you go over the MechTaco and check out all of their great content, including game reviews, let’s play videos, and top 10 lists in addition to my contributions to the site.  If you’re coming to my site from the link I put in my bio at MechTacho, I say welcome and hope my commentary will get you thinking about video games in new and interesting ways.

About kevinimpellizeri

I'm a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Delaware where I am studying the social and cultural impact of video games in America. When I'm not studying history or playing video games I offer my voice on 91.3 WVUD Newark and review bad horror movies at www.horrorsofhorror.com. You can follow me on Twitter at @KDImpellizeri
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

