Happy 1st Birthday, PrimarySourceCode

It’s extraordinary how quickly a year goes by, but here we are and here I still am after one year of putting together content for this site.  A year ago today I gave my “Hello World” to the mass of voices crying out and cat images that is the Internet.  And what a year it has been.  I have had posts featured on History News Network as well as Drexel University Libraries.  Moreover, I also began writing articles on video games for Mech Taco

In other news, after a roller coaster year I have finally completed and defended my prospectus for my doctoral dissertation (you can view the final draft here).  I will examine the cultural history of video games in America, paying special attention to negotiations over meaning.  What using video games has meant to the industry, the people who play them, and to the general public at large has been far from a static concept over the past forty years, and I hope my dissertation will bring the fascinating and complex history of this medium as both technology and mass culture in a way that both scholars and interested readers will find engaging and enjoyable.  There is a great topic there, and I hope I possess the requisite tools to make you enjoy the study of this medium as I do.  Be sure to check back here as I will document interesting revelations, anecdotes, research trips, and all the chaos and excitement that goes with academic research and writing.

Thanks for reading.  Here’s hoping for a year that was even better than the first.

About kevinimpellizeri

I'm a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Delaware where I am studying the social and cultural impact of video games in America. When I'm not studying history or playing video games I offer my voice on 91.3 WVUD Newark and review bad horror movies at www.horrorsofhorror.com. You can follow me on Twitter at @KDImpellizeri
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

