Getting Museums (and Visitors) into the Game: ARGs and Museums

I created this video presentation as part of an assignment during my time in the University of Delaware’s Museum Studies Program. The presentation examines Alternate Reality Games (ARGs) and their uses in museums, examining how they have been implemented in the past, both in the private and non-profit sector, as well as some tips and possible pitfalls for museums looking to utilize video games as part of their content.

Even though I put this presentation together way back in 2011, I hope it will help anyone looking into some of the big issue related to bringing video games and museums together.  I have also included an annotated bibliography that went with the project, listing some useful websites for anyone interested in learning more.

 

About kevinimpellizeri

I'm a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Delaware where I am studying the social and cultural impact of video games in America. When I'm not studying history or playing video games I offer my voice on 91.3 WVUD Newark and review bad horror movies at www.horrorsofhorror.com. You can follow me on Twitter at @KDImpellizeri
This entry was posted in Museums/Exhibits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

